Reach Cambridge publishes more about what it delivers than most competitors — 20 hours of tuition a week, 24-hour supervision, two meals a day, two excursions a fortnight — and no price at all for the main programme. Only its £595 taster courses carry a figure. It states clearly in its footer that it is not affiliated with the University of Cambridge.
This review also covers a price you cannot find. Reach Cambridge is unusually specific about what it delivers and entirely silent about what it costs. Both facts are worth examining.
What does it cost?
We could not find out, and the way the site is written makes that conspicuous.
The site introduces a list with the phrase "The summer program cost includes" and then lists the inclusions without ever stating the cost. The only figure we found anywhere is for Taster Courses: "The fee for this Taster Course is £595," for a programme running over a couple of afternoons, with students able to take up to two per two-week period.
So the published price list is a £595 add-on to a product with no published price.
This is not unique in the market. Of the UK-facing companies we have checked, most publish no full price list — Dukes Plus publishes "From" figures for some products and nothing for others, and Crimson Education's own FAQ poses the pricing question without answering it. The exception is Oxford Scholastica, which publishes a complete table.
The practical point is not moral. It is that you cannot compare what you cannot see, and a family deciding between a summer school and, say, three months of research supervision needs both numbers on the same page.
What do you actually get?
More detail than most competitors give, and the teaching figure is the best in this comparison.
| What | Reach Cambridge publishes |
|---|---|
| Academic tuition | 20 hours per week |
| Supervision | 24-hour onsite, dedicated welfare staff |
| Accommodation | University college accommodation, central Cambridge, small corridor groups |
| Meals | Two a day — breakfast only on excursion days |
| Excursions | Two coach trips per two-week period |
| Extras | Guest lectures, workshops in leadership, interview skills, public speaking |
| On completion | Course certificate, and a course report with a suggested reading list |
| Options | Heathrow transfers, single room and en suite upgrades, travel insurance |
Twenty hours a week is a real number and a substantial one. For comparison, Oxford Scholastica describes "10 days of classroom learning" across a fortnight without stating daily hours.
Two things are missing. Class size is given only as "small classes," with no ratio — so the quality of those twenty hours is unverifiable. And no assessment or final project is described, which means the course certificate certifies attendance rather than achievement.
The course report is the most interesting inclusion. A written account of what a student actually did, plus a reading list, is more useful than a generic recommendation letter, because it describes work rather than character. Whether it is useful to an admissions reader depends entirely on what it says.
Is it affiliated with Cambridge?
No, and the company says so in its footer without being asked:
"Reach Cambridge is not affiliated to the University of Cambridge or its constituent colleges."
Students stay in university college accommodation. That is a facilities arrangement — colleges let rooms commercially in the vacations — and it is not an institutional connection, academic or otherwise. The same distinction applies to the research journals students are pointed at: Think.Check.Submit. exists because a prestigious-sounding name tells you nothing about what sits behind it.
This matters because the category trades heavily on the ambiguity. Oxford Scholastica puts the general case most bluntly of anyone in the market: "There are no Oxford summer schools affiliated with Oxford University." The same holds in Cambridge.
The nearest thing to a university position on record is from Oxford rather than Cambridge: a spokesperson quoted in Cherwell by Timothy Blackburn in August 2026 stated that "summer programmes are entirely separate to the University's undergraduate and graduate admissions processes." We found no equivalent published statement from Cambridge.
Who is it for?
The 24-hour welfare staffing points at the answer.
It suits a 14-to-16-year-old travelling internationally, possibly alone, whose family wants real supervision as well as teaching. That is a genuine and underrated product. The combination of a named welfare team, corridor-group accommodation and twenty structured hours a week is the right shape for a younger teenager, and it is a different proposition from a programme aimed at eighteen-year-olds.
It is less obviously for a seventeen-year-old building an application. Two weeks of classes with no assessment produces a certificate and a report. It does not produce a piece of work that can be questioned for twenty minutes at interview, which is what a research-led course is actually testing for.
And it is not for anyone expecting it to affect a Cambridge application, for the reasons the company itself gives.
How it compares
| Reach Cambridge | Oxford Scholastica | Dukes Plus | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Main price published | No | Yes — £7,495 / 2 wks | Partially, "From" only |
| Teaching hours | 20 hrs/week | 10 days classroom | Not stated |
| Supervision detail | 24-hr, named welfare staff | Not stated | Not stated |
| Non-affiliation stated | Yes, in footer | Yes, emphatically | Not stated |
| Age range | 14–18 | 12–14 and 15–18 | Varies by brand |
| On completion | Certificate + course report | Certificate + conditional letter | Not stated |
Reach Cambridge wins on delivery detail and loses on price transparency. Oxford Scholastica is the reverse. Neither is dishonest; they are differently incomplete.
Where we fit, and where we are the weaker choice
The Oxford Centre for Advanced Research is not a summer school. We run 1:1 mentorships with PhD candidates and early-career researchers at Oxford, Cambridge, other leading UK universities and Ivy League institutions, producing a piece of written research. The Oxford Scholar Programme is £2,000 — about $2,600 — for ten contact hours over ten to fourteen weeks; the Oxford Publication Fellowship is £3,400, roughly $4,400. We publish both figures, and we accept approximately 60% of applicants, self-reported and unaudited.
We are not affiliated with the University of Oxford.
Where Reach Cambridge is clearly better: a fourteen-year-old who needs supervision, company and structure for a fortnight is not served by anything we do. We work remotely with students who already want to sit alone with a dataset, which is a narrower person.
Before either, the free UK routes — Nuffield, In2scienceUK, UNIQ, Sutton Trust — are worth checking, and several are more selective than anything on sale.
The question to ask first
What is the total price, in writing, before I commit?
It is one sentence to answer and it is not on the website. Until you have it, the twenty hours a week — which is genuinely the best teaching figure in this comparison — cannot be weighed against anything.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Reach Cambridge cost?
Not published. The site describes what "the summer program cost includes" without ever stating the cost. The only priced item we could find is a Taster Course at £595, which runs over a couple of afternoons. For the two, four and six-week programmes you have to ask.
Is it affiliated with the University of Cambridge?
No. The footer states plainly: 'Reach Cambridge is not affiliated to the University of Cambridge or its constituent colleges.' Students stay in university college accommodation, which is a facilities arrangement rather than an institutional connection.
How much teaching do you get?
20 hours of academic tuition per week, which is the clearest teaching figure published by any company in this comparison. Classes are described as 'small' but no size or ratio is given, so the cost per teaching hour cannot be calculated — because the cost is not published either.
What ages is it for?
Students aged 14 to 18, from around the world, taught in English. No other eligibility requirements are listed, and nothing on the site suggests an academic entry bar.
Do you get a letter of recommendation?
Not mentioned anywhere. What is included is a course certificate and a course report with a suggested reading list. A course report is arguably more useful than a two-week recommendation letter, because it describes work rather than character.
Who is it for?
A 14-to-18-year-old who wants a structured residential fortnight in Cambridge with real contact hours and close supervision. The 24-hour onsite welfare staffing is the strongest thing about it for a younger teenager travelling internationally. It is not a route to a Cambridge offer.
